Skip to main content

Box 270


Contains 2 Results:

K - Z

 Sub-Series — Box: 270, Folder: 1-5

Larry L. King; Tom Lea; David Lindsey; John A. Lomax; Al Lowman; Beverly Lowry; James McMurtry; Willie Nelson; Ancel Nunn; George Sessions Perry; Ellen Schulz Quillen; Bud Shrake; Henderson R. Shuffler; Terry Southern; Texas Hatters; Charles Phillip Vaughn; Bob Wade; Frank Wardlaw; Walter Prescott Webb

Dates: 1962 - 1989

Programs, 1957 - 1979

 File — Box: 270, Folder: 6
Sub-Series Description From the Sub-Series: The Texas Institute of Letters was organized in 1936 during the year of the Texas Centennial for the purpose of the "promotion and recognition of literature in Texas." It evolved into an organization which met annually and awarded literary prizes to works by Texas authors. Bill Wittliff joined the TIL in 1969 and was president from 1974 to 1978. He wrote and published a history of the Institute, The Texas Institute of Letters, 1936 - 1966. He and Encino Press had received awards from TIL...
Dates: 1957 - 1979